top of page
Search

Securing Your First Fashion Job: Advice from Sarah Swindell

Updated: Mar 22




Sarah Swindell’s lecture provided me invaluable insight into licensing and branding. However, what stood out for me was the opportunity to engage in discussion with her, where we were asked to explore issues our industry is facing and sought advice on directing the path to securing our first job, specifically as an international student.


The topics discussed were very informative as they reflected the several challenges that individuals could face entering the fashion industry. From concerns about AI taking up job opportunities to navigating skilled worker visa requirement and gaining relevant experience were discussed.

I was particularly eager to seek Sarah Swindell’s perspective on few matters which I believe are important for my professional journey. Some of my key queries were about the importance of social media presence in hiring, what do they want to see in social media of the applicant, strategies for establishing myself as an international student in UK and ethical considerations surrounding unpaid internships and jobs. I wanted to make sure that I her perspective so that I  can strategically navigate these challenges in future.


Sarah’s insight can surely offer valuable guidance on how to use social media platforms effectively to showcase my skills, network with industry professionals. In addition to this , her perspective on unpaid opportunities can help me balance between gaining valuable experience and ensuring fair treatment and compensation for my work.


Reflecting on the discussion, I feel more positive and empowered for my job search in the UK fashion industry.  I feel confident in my ability to approach my job search.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page